T. Steward & Mary White built our home in 1872. Together with their sons, Steward Edward (author), Gilbert (artist), and Rodirick (violinist), they formed the financial and cultural core of Grand Haven.

In 1898, the White family sold the home to Charles Boyden, a lumber baron. He displayed his wares throughout the home by extensive use of butternut, walnut, and cherry woods.In addition to Mr. Boyden’s beautiful millworking, he also added the south wing and the elabo rate porch. With the decline of the lumber era in 1930, Mr. Boyden sought business interests elsewhere.

Joseph & Mary O-Brien were the next residents to occupy the home. Their contribution to our community is well remembered. Mrs. O’Brien left for Grand Rapids in 1939, this in turn was the end to an era of prominent Grand Haven families.

The home was then converted to apartments to satisfy the war demands for affordable housing. This decline and subsequent restoration are all part of the intricate and rich history for the Boyden House.

In 1987, Corrie and Berend Snoeyer purchased the home and began the journey of renovation. Over the years much hard work and loving care have been invested. A desire to share this historical beauty with others led to the establishment of the Boyden House Bed and Breakfast.

Positive comments by the neighbors, success as an inn, being named an honorary coast guard station, and numerous other accolades are ample rewards and assure the Boyden House a role in Grand Haven’s future.

Our Rooms

Carriage House
Carriage House
Safari Den
Honeymoon Suite
Cabaret Suite
Love Nest
Sun Room
Executive Suite
Make Reservation
Call Now Button